Associated Builders and Contractors, Inc. - Illinois Chapter
Your Merit Shop Voice Across Illinois

Capitol News Reports

By Shattuck & Associates Consulting, Inc.

Capitol News Report: October 2018

ABC Recognizes Rauner Accomplishments

If you missed it, ABC has endorsed the reelection of Governor Bruce Rauner. Review of the Governor’s record compared to that of his Democrat opponent, JB Pritzker, resulted in a an easy choice. Below are a comparison of the candidates’ positions on key issues for merit shop contractors.


Much is at stake this election for ABC, Illinois members. Merit shop contractors endured twelve years under the regimes of Governors Blagojevich and Quinn. These were years when: PLAs for all state projects were required; legislation was signed to expand the prevailing wage and regulatory burdens; rules were implemented by state agencies that worked against ABC members; and, there was a “gotcha” enforcement attitude with a focus on merit shop contractors.


The past four years have seen an administration seeking ways to enhance our economy, reduce regulation on business and reform state government to assist taxpayers.


CFE Endorse/Finance Support for Legislative Candidates


With important legislative elections occurring on November 6th, Contractors for Free Enterprise (CFE), an affiliate of ABC, Illinois, announced its legislative endorsements for the general election of Illinois legislators. ABC encourages our members to support and vote for our endorsed candidates.


CFE- Endorsed Candidates for State Senate


Neil Anderson                     R-Moline              

Jason Barickman                 R-Bloomington   

William Brady                     R-Bloomington   

Michael Connelly               R-Lisle                  

Barrett Davie                       R-Lake Forest     

Don DeWitte                        R-St. Charles

Dale Fowler                         R-Harrisburg

Napoleon Harris                   D-Harvey             

Dan McConchie                  R-Lake Zurich     

Chris Nybo                          R-Elmhurst          

Jason Plummer                     R-Edwardsville

Sue Rezin                              R-Morris               

Tom Rooney                        R-Rolling Meadows          

Chapin Rose                         R-Mahomet                         

Brian Stewart                       R-Freeport

David Syverson                   R-Rockford         

Jil Tracy                                R-Quincy                              

Craig Wilcox                        R-McHenry                          


Non-incumbents                      received general election financial support from CFE


CFE- Endorsed Candidates for State Representative


Daren Bailey                       R-Xenia

Mark Batinick                    R-Plainfield

Tom Bennett                        R-Gibson City

Avery Bourne                      R-Raymond

Dan Brady                            R-Bloomington

Peter Breen                         R-Lombard

Tim Butler                            R-Springfield

John Cabello                        R-Machesney Park             

Andrew Chesney                 R-Freeport

CD Davidsmeyer                 R-Jacksonville     

Tom Demmer                       R-Dixon                

Jim Durkin                            R-Western Springs

Randy Frese                          R-Quincy              

Brad Halbrook                     R-Shelbyville       

Norine Hammond              R-Macomb          

Sheri Jesiel                            R-Winthrop Harbor           

Dwight Kay                          R-Edwardsville   

Tonia Khouri                       R-West Chicago

Deanne Mazzochi               R-Westmont        

Michael McAuliffe            R-Chicago            

Tony McCombie                R-Savanna          

Margo McDermed               R-Mokena           

David McSweeney              R-Barrington Hills

Charles Meier                       R-Okawville         

Chris Miller                         R-Oakland           

Tom Morrison                    R-Palatine

Mike Murphy                       R-Springfield

David Olsen                         R-Downers Grove

Lindsay Parkhurst             R-Kankakee

Steve Reick                           R-Woodstock      

Herman Senor                     R-Decatur            

Dave Severin                       R-Benton

Allen Skillicorn                    R-East Dundee    

Keith Sommer                    R-Morton

Joe Sosnowski                      R-Belvidere

Ryan Spain                           R-Peoria

Dan Swanson                       R-Woodhull

Dan Ugaste                           R-Geneva             

Mike Unes                            R-Pekin 

Grant Wehrli                      R-Naperville

David Welter                        R-Morris

Keith Wheeler                    R-Aurora

Blaine Wilhour                   R-Beecher

Christine Winger                               R-Bloomingdale 

Tom Weber                           R-Lake Villa        


            Non-incumbents                      received general election financial support from CFE



ABC Starts Lobbying Veto Session Issues


SB 904 (Hastings/Hoffman) will allow medical providers to pursue workers’ compensation medical bill payments in circuit court. No other state in the country allows bill collection issues to proceed in court before the issue is resolved administratively. There are a number of changes proposed in this measure that we believe could work against employers’ abilities to control medical costs. ABC Supports veto Governor Amendatory Veto Message


SB 3052 (Mulroe/Arroyo) Under the Contractor Prompt Payment Act, allows for a retainage of 10% of the payment to be withheld from a payment under a construction contract prior to the completion of 50% of the contract. After 50% of the contract is completed, the amount of retainage for any subsequent payment cannot exceed 5%. ABC SUPPORTS an override Governor Vetoed


HB 4572 (Guzzardi/Castro) amends the Illinois Human Rights Act to redefine "employer" to include any person employing one (currently 15) or more employees within Illinois during 20 or more calendar weeks within the calendar year of or preceding the alleged violation. ABC Supports veto  Governor Veto Message


HB 4163 (Moeller/Castro) amends the Equal Pay Act of 2003 prohibiting an employer from inquiring about salary and wage history by adding new standards that limit employer defenses and adding new compensatory and punitive damage penalties on businesses who are not compliant. ABC Supports veto Governor Amendatory Veto Message .

Elisa Fox